Faith and Finances

If yonativity-1u look elsewhere on this website, you will find that I approach everything in life from a Christian perspective. Christ is my Lord and Savior and He leads me daily. I can choose to stray but I know the consequences are not good – a loss of fellowship with Him for a time (until I repent) and having to clean up whatever mess I made doing things without His guidance.

This is true in every area of life – including finances.

God is the owner of everything. You are actually a steward of everything God has provided for you.

In this ponativity-2st, I am including some passages from the Bible which help clarify the attitude we should have toward the things in our lives. Especially at Christmas time, when we are giving gifts to others, we need to remember that it is not the stuff our loved ones really want – it is to be part of a strong, loving family that can weather any storm together and come out stronger on the other end.

My prayer for each of you is that this Christmas will be one of reflection on Jesus Christ, whose birth we celebrate.

For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil, and by craving it, some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pains. But you, man of God, run from these things, and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance, and gentleness (1 Timothy 6:10-11). 

I don’t say this out of need, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know both how to have a little, and I know how to have a lot. In any and all circumstances I have learned the secret of being content—whether well fed or hungry, whether in abundance or in need. I am able to do all things through Him who strengthens me (Philippians 4:11-13).

So don’t worry, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear?’ For the idolaters eagerly seek all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them.  But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be provided for you. Therefore don’t worry about tomorrow, because tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own (Matthew 6:31-34).

Trust in the Lord and do what is good; dwell in the land and live securely. Take delight in the Lord, and He will give you your heart’s desires (Psalm 37:3-4).

Instruct those who are rich in the present age not to be arrogant or to set their hope on the uncertainty of wealth, but on God, who richly provides us with all things to enjoy. Instruct them to do what is good, to be rich in good works, to be generous, willing to share, storing up for themselves a good reserve for the age to come, so that they may take hold of life that is real (1 Timothy 6:17-19).

Scripture references are from the Holman Christian Standard Bible.

Leave a Reply

