It’s Not Money That Makes Me Happy

DSC06583If I were to write a song about my favorite things, they would include spending time with my husband and my family, fresh vegetables cooked in sugar and bacon drippings, sunshine and roses, a walk in the woods, setting a table with pretty dishes, great Southern fried chicken and watching something like “Little House on the Prairie.”

If I were 19, my favorite things might include a smart phone, video games and food you eat on the run to the next appointment. I’m not 19.

The older I get, the more I know how blessed I am. Recently, I was asked, “On a scale from 1 to 10, how blessed do you feel?” My answer, “15.”

My favorite things don’t have to involve money. It costs me to visit my sons’ families because we don’t live close, but I would rather live down the street. The walk to their house would cost me nothing. I wish I had a garden, but I don’t (yet); however, sometimes someone with a garden gives me some surplus and those are usually the best tasting vegetables I eat all year. It doesn’t cost me anything to go out and enjoy the sunshine and my rose bushes were Kuykenhof and Delft, Holland May 2004 028already here when we moved into our house. I love a walk in the woods or the local park. Again, that costs me nothing. Setting a table with pretty dishes is such fun to me. Of course I have purchased dishes, but I have several sets that were either given to me or inherited. It may not be good for me but I love to eat fried chicken. Sometimes I fix it myself. Sometimes I pick it up, but it is not expensive either way. The episodes of “Little House on the Prairie” I have watched lately have been on the internet. I pay for internet service, of course, but nothing extra to watch my favorite show.

I do think a lot about money. Everyone does, but I am usually trying to come up with new ways to stretch it. I figure it is only good stewardship for the resources God has given me. When I find a quarter in the bottom of my purse, realize I can save $25 on a needed item because that store just sent me a coupon, or find I have just the right ingredients for a meal, I know God has given me another way to stretch my money. I am more excited about a bargain God has arranged for me than I am about having the money to buy the item at bargain prices.

It’s that God cares about the little things that means so much to me. If it matters to me, it matters to Him. I am His daughter.

…whoever trusts in the Lord, happy is he (Proverbs 16:20b).

Leave a Reply

