Those That Have Gone Before Us

This post was first published on my other blog: http://onefocusministries.com/2014/09/19/those-that-have-gone-before-us/

I am reposting it here as a reminder that it is not what we do with our money, but how we live our lives that ultimately really matters.

Those That Have Gone Before Us

I have members of my family and friends who have preceded me to heaven. I think of each of them often and the things they did and said.

When I clean up after a meal, I can hear my sister saying, “The kitchen is not clean until you have swept the floor.” When I think of my dad (which I do often), I remember him saying, “When God is through with me, He will take me home.” When I think of my close friend, I remember her life principle, “God is faithful.”

It does not need to be a single saying that brings back memories. The relationship I had with some of my loved ones continues to speak to me.

Frank Ballard, WWII photoMy dad and I were very close. He called me his “blessing in the Lord.” His mother, in days when divorces were rare, divorced her alcoholic husband and raised four children on her own teaching each one of them to love the Lord. His older brother took his position in the family seriously and looked after every member of the family. He taught his sons to do the same.

I often think of my father-in-law’s patience and love as he cared for my mother-in-law through her long bout with Alzheimer’s. I also remember how birthdays were so important to him. His calendar was filled with reminders to send cards to his family and friends. His mother was an amazing witness for the Lord and his wife’s mother was one of the sweetest Christians I have ever known. They both had a great influence on me.

I miss my sister by choice so much. She had an unconditional love for me. I never had to explain myself to her. She knew instinctively. There was no one else in my life like her.

Picture 458Although dead, they still speak to me.

God reminds us what we say and what we do in this life lives on. This reality is sobering. We all have done things and said things we would not like to be remembered for. While we are still here, though, there remains opportunities to be a positive influence and hopefully be remembered for our trust and faith in God.

By faith Abel offered to God a more excellent sacrifice than Cain, through which he obtained witness that he was righteous, God testifying of his gifts; and through it he being dead still speaks (Hebrews 11:4).

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Nancy Williams on September 21, 2014 at 12:00 am

    What a beautiful tribute, Stephanie! Thank you for sharing it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

