More Words of Wisdom About Thrift

In July, I posted a series of quotes from Confucius, Cicero, Bob Hope, Zorba the Greek, Benjamin Franklin, M.W. Harrison, Nicholas Boileau, Larry Burkett, Billy Graham and Jesus. Here are a few more words of wisdom about thrift.

Image

Benjamin Franklin

“An investment in knowledge always pays the best interest.” – another quote from Benjamin Franklin

“A hundred load of worry will not pay an ounce of debt.” – George Herbert

“The wise man in the storm prays to God, not for safety from danger, but for deliverance from fear.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Life is 10% of what happens to me, and 90% of how I react to it.” – John Maxwell

“The art is not in making money, but in keeping it.” – Old Proverb

Image

Theodore Roosevelt

“The one thing I want to leave my children is an honorable name.” – Theodore Roosevelt

“The secret of contentment is the realization that life is a gift not a right.” – Anonymous

“He who loses money, loses much; He who loses a friend, loses much more; He who loses faith, loses all.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

Image

Eleanor Roosevelt at the United Nations

The apostle Paul, who left a legacy of Biblical proportions chose to live for Christ and others, saying, in regard to possessions:

“…I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know both how to have a little, and I know how to have a lot. In any and all circumstances I have learned the secret of being content – whether well fed or hungry, whether in abundance or need. I am able to do all things through Him who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:11-13 HCSB). 

Leave a Reply

