Sourdough Bread – Yummy and Inexpensive

About a year ago when I posted a recipe for sourdough starter  – https://stretchmoney.wordpress.com/2012/09/27/saving-money-with-sourdough/ – I mentioned that I use two sourdough starters. The previous post was about the one I use for biscuits.

Below I am including the starter for the one I use to make bread. It is easy, inexpensive, smells great when it’s cooking and makes a great gift. It makes three loaves of bread. I also make pizza dough with this starter.

I often made cinnamon rolls using this recipe  when I taught Sunday School for high school students. They loved it. Recently someone who was in my class many years ago asked for the starter and the recipe. I was thrilled that the memories of it were still so vivid. I have included the recipe for cinnamon rolls below.

To make the initial starter, add 1 package of yeast to 1 cup hot (or very warm – not scolding hot) tap water, 1/2 sugar and 3 tablespoons potato flakes. Let ferment on counter for two days. You will be able to tell when it’s ready when it bubbles on top. Never use metal – use plastic or glass to store this.KINDLE_CAMERA_1378210822000

Bread Sourdough: add 1 cup hot tap water, 1/2 cup sugar, 3 tablespoons potato flakes to the sourdough starter, stir with wooden or plastic spoon and leave on counter for several hours.  If not making bread, throw some of it away (up to a cup) and put back in refrigerator.  Needs to be fed at least once a week, but not every day.  May be fed after three days.

To make bread, feed sourdough and leave on counter for up to 8 hours.  Then combine 6 cups flour (I sometimes use 1 cup wheat and 5 cups white flour), 2 teaspoons salt, ½ cup sugar, ½ cup oil, 1 ½ cups hot water and 1 cup sourdough.  Put sourdough back in refrigerator.  Let dough rise up to 8 hours.  Then form three loaves of bread, pan full of cinnamon rolls or pizza dough. Let rise 8 hours.  Bake about 30 minutes at 325.

It takes a day and a half to make bread.  For instance, if I want bread on Friday night, I feed the sourdough Thursday morning, make the dough on Thursday evening, form into loaves on Friday morning and bake Friday evening.  If I want cinnamon rolls for church, I feed dough on Friday night, make up dough on Saturday morning, form cinnamon rolls Saturday evening and bake on Sunday morning.

Cinnamon rolls: Roll out dough into long rectangle.  Spread melted butter on top, then sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on top of that.  Roll up jellyroll style.  Cut and place side by side in a large pan that has been sprayed with Pam.  Let rise again for 8-12 hours. Bake 325 degrees 30 minutes or until done.  Top with powdered sugar frosting (powdered sugar, milk, and a little vanilla).

Leave a Reply

