Archive for August 14th, 2013

Helping You Stretch Your Money with Recipes from the Past

Like many of you, I was thrilled to find old recipes that my parents used after they died.  My stepmother’s collection held a card on top that was not a recipe, but brought a smile to my face:

“If I had known I was going to live this long, I would have taken better care of myself.”

The recipes in her own handwriting are treasures. Here are a couple of them that would help you stretch your money.

Quick Tartar Sauce

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1 tablespoon each: chopped pickle, chopped olives, lemon juice

1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1/2 teaspoon grated onion

Combine all ingredients. Stir just enough to mix well. Chill.

Coffee Cake

3 eggs

1 cup Snowdrift

1 cup raisins

1 t. soda dissolved in 1 cup cold coffee

1 1/2 t. salt

2 t. cinnamon

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

4 cups flour

2 cups pecans or walnuts

2 t. powdered cloves

1 t. soda dissolved in 1 cup molasses

 Cream shortening and sugar, add eggs well beaten. Add molasses, coffee, flour, and spices. Lastly, add raisins and nuts which must be well floured. Bake in a slow oven from 1 1/2 to 2 hours.

My dad added to this recipe (I know because I recognized his handwriting):  300-325 Bake in tube pan.

Image