Saving Money with Sourdough

Image

For years, I have made sourdough bread. I actually have two starters. One I use primarily for biscuits. The other I use to make bread, cinnamon rolls, pizza dough and many other variations of bread.

When I need a gift to take to someone who has just come home from the hospital, when I volunteer to bring breakfast to my Bible study class, or just when I want to put a smile on someone’s face, I bring them homemade bread or cinnamon rolls. I enjoy this labor of love and it doesn’t cost a lot of money because I can make my gift from ingredients I have readily available. I just need to make sure I maintain my sourdough so that I can have it when I need it.

For those of you who have never baked bread, it is much easier than you think. Here is a basic recipe for sourdough. Many recipes for using sourdough can be found online.

Combine 2 cups flour, 2 cups warm water and 1 package active, dry yeast. Mix thoroughly in a glass or plastic container that has plenty of room to grow. Never use metal. Cover loosely with a cloth and put in a warm place overnight. The next morning add 1 cup milk, 1 cup flour and 1/4-1/2 cup sugar. Stir gently with a wooden or plastic spoon. Place in your refrigerator loosely covered. In five days, repeat the process. In ten days, your starter will be ready to use.

For a related article on sourdough in my other blog, go to http://www.onefocusministries.com and click on the blog tab. Enjoy!

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] a year ago when I posted a recipe for sourdough starter  – https://stretchmoney.wordpress.com/2012/09/27/saving-money-with-sourdough/ – I mentioned that I use two sourdough starters. The previous post was about the one I use […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

