Money saving hint from Sunshine Blake

My husband and I were reminiscing one day about his grandmother – our wonderful and inspirational Sunshine Blake. She lived to be 96 and was one of the most devoted Christian witnesses I have ever seen. Our uncle says that he knew when he was a young man walking along with his friends and he saw his mother coming, that he’d better get ready. She was going to make sure they all knew how to be saved!

Sunshine never had much money, but she was incredibly happy. She gave gifts to everyone in the family on birthdays and Christmas. The gifts were usually obtained from the rescue mission, but her loving care picked out every one. One time I had mentioned wanting to make throw pillows out of velvet and before I knew it, I had a generous stack of velvet scraps. She put a lot of thought into her gifts and her family. She prayed for every one of us. I miss her.

My husband laughingly shared that Sunshine used to remove the plastic liners from empty cereal boxes before she threw them away. They might come in handy sometime.

I have since decided that is a very good idea. I don’t always save those liners, but sometimes I do. Every time I have one in my kitchen drawer, I find a good use for it. A lot of cheese packages, luncheon meat packages tear up when you open them. I keep the meat in the package so that I can keep the expiration date visible and place in a large cereal box liner. Sometimes I have just a little bit of leftovers that will fit in a small one and place in my vegetable drawer. She was right. They do come in handy sometime.Image

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your article seem to
    be running off the screen in Opera. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The design look great though! Hope you get the issue fixed soon.
    Kudos

    Reply

    • Posted by stretchmoney on October 9, 2012 at 2:43 pm

      Thanks for the heads up. I couldn’t see any problem on my screen, but reduced the size of the picture. Hope that helps.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

